Nikon DX Lenses

Since 1999 when the first DX DSLR appeared, Nikon has introduced 19 DX lenses (different focal lengths)—some with multiple updates—specifically for those crop-sensor cameras. In a few cases we have lenses equivalent to FX lenses, but we're still missing a lot of equivalence in the DX lens lineup 19 years later. Particularly missing are wide angle primes and f/2 or f/2.8 zooms equivalent to the main FX zoom kit. 

Note that some DX lenses can cover the FX frame either partially (sometimes in only part of their zoom range, or at 5:4 crop, or with some vignetting). All FX lenses cover the DX frame. 

Here are some common DX to FX equivalents to keep in my when considering DX lenses:

  • 10mm DX = 15mm FX
  • 12mm DX = 18mm FX
  • 14mm DX = 21mm FX
  • 16mm DX = 24mm FX
  • 18mm DX = ~28mm FX
  • 24mm DX = ~35mm FX
  • 35mm DX = ~50mm FX
  • 50mm DX = ~70mm FX
  • 70mm DX = 105mm FX
  • 135mm DX = 200mm FX
  • 200mm DX = 300mm FX

If you need a Nikon lens acronym explained (e.g AF-S, ED, etc.), see this article.

Here’s information about every DX Nikkor produced:

Looking for gear-specific information? Check out our other Web sites:
mirrorless: | general:| Z System: | film SLR:

dslrbodies: all text and original images © 2024 Thom Hogan
portions Copyright 1999-2023 Thom Hogan
All Rights Reserved — the contents of this site, including but not limited to its text, illustrations, and concepts, 
may not be utilized, directly or indirectly, to inform, train, or improve any artificial intelligence program or system.